Example profile (fictitious)

SCIENCE CONNECTION        Biographical Profile        Member #109999       Go Back

Name:   Vernon Q. Passwater     Sex:  male      Age:  45     Marital status:  single
Location:   Chicago, IL
e-mail address:   Vernon@notRealISP.com
Prefer initial contact from other members by:  e-mail

Chief science/nature interests:   natural history, physics, population/organismal biology, social science/psychology, economics, environmental/conservation issues

Education:   MSc in biology

Occupation:   Science writer

Height:  6'0", 183 cm   Weight:   170 lbs., 77 kg     Do you smoke?   no

Religion:   none

Particular science/nature interests:   Climate change, natural history, esp. birds, mammals & amphibians. Economics, social anthropology, evolution.

Other interests & pastimes:   Interested in history, politics & public policy, current events. Love reading, music (play piano), walking, birding, bicycling, canoeing and swimming. Have a large vegetable garden and enjoy cooking.

Preferred reading material or information sources:   Books... and The Economist, New York Review of Books, Nature, Scientific American, CBC radio (Canada's public broadcaster), PBS, BBC World News. There's never enough time for reading...

Favorite books, writers, or films:   Books: John Mortimer's Rumpole stories; "Uncle Tungsten" (Oliver Sacks), "The Cowboy Reader"; "Huckleberry Finn"; "The Future of Life" (E.O. Wilson), "Selected Poems" of Langston Hughes; "One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich". "The Far Side" and short story collections.   Films: "Close to Eden", "Singing in the Rain", "Das Boot", "The Rear Window", "The Thin Man", "Babette's Feast". TV series: Doc Martin

Tastes in music:   jazz, classical (esp. 20th Century), Motown, American standards, Italian opera, traditional folk music

What are your greatest sources of enjoyment:   Great food, music, reading, friends, my nieces and nephews, spending time in nature, and actually, I sometimes love my work!

What characteristics do you consider important in a prospective mate or friend?   For a mate, someone good-natured and independent-minded. Someone open to starting a family or extending an existing one. A reader more than a talker.

Are you open to:  (i) long-distance contacts?  yes  (ii) possibility of relocating?   yes

Comments re long-distance contacts and/or relocation:   Would consider relocating, especially to somewhere warmer!

Additional comments (e.g. future plans and aspirations, political leanings):  
"Thought is subversive and revolutionary, destructive and terrible; thought is merciless to privilege, established institutions and comfortable habit. Thought looks into the pit of hell and is not afraid. Thought is great and swift and free, the light of the world, and the chief glory of man." -- Bertrand Russell

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana. -- Groucho Marx



Preferences regarding contacts with other members   (multiple choice question)
This profile was last revised on: 2010-04-23 (year-month-day)